Motor City Mayhem!

Jordan and Ricky Taylor (No. 10 WTR Konica Minolta Corvette DP) won Saturday’s 2016 Chevrolet Sports Classic Presented by the Metro Detroit Chevy Dealers on Belle Isle Park in Detroit.

It was the second IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship victory at the circuit for the Taylor brothers. Christian Fittipaldi and Joao Barbosa (No. 5 Mustang Sampling Corvette DP) finished second, 1.740 seconds behind. Jonathan Bomarito and Tristan Nunez (No. 55 Castrol/ModSpace Mazda Prototype) finished third, giving Mazda Motorsports its first podium finish in IMSA WeatherTech Championship competition.

Renger van der Zande (No. 8 Starworks Motorsport ORECA FLM09, started by Alex Popow) pressured Colin Braun (No. 54 CORE autosport ORECA FLM09, started by Jon Bennett) into making a rare mistake with less than five minutes remaining to win in the Prototype Challenge (PC) class at Detroit for the second consecutive year.

Ben Keating and Jeroen Bleekemolen (No. 33 Monkey Garage Dodge Viper GT3-R) won the GTD class in Saturday’s IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship race. Joerg Bergmeister and Patrick Lindsey (No. 73 Park Place Motorsports Porsche 911) finished second and Alessandro Balzan/Christina Nielsen (No. 63 Scuderia Corsa Ferrari 488 GT3) finished third.