Ganassi Third Straight... Mazda On Top In GT

Photo by John Thawley 

For the third straight year, a Chip Ganassi Lexus Riley was the first to cross the finish line for the Rolex 24 At Daytona. The Chip Ganassi with Felix Sabates racing program became the first team to capture a Rolex 24 At Daytona overall victory in three straight years. Rolex Series stars Scott Pruett, Memo Rojas and NASCAR Sprint Cup drivers Juan Pablo Montoya and Dario Franchitti captured the victory in the No. 01 TELMEX/Target Lexus Riley. The record breaking race was the 46th running of the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series presented by Crown Royal Cask No. 16 season opener.

While the No. 01 team led 252 laps, it was clear a race win would have to be earned surviving the rain and slippery track prevalent throughout the night stages of the race. When the checkered flag waved, the Ganassi quartet executed their strategy to perfection and went without the mechanical problems that plagued many of their counterparts.

Click to read more ...

Page 1 ... 79 80 81 82 83